Multimedia Collection

Bernstein in Vienna: Beethoven

78 minutes
M1001 .B4 op.125 1992

To play Beethoven's music is to give oneself over completely to the child-spirit which lived in that grim, awkward, violent man. Without that utter submission it is impossible to play the Adagio of the Ninth. Or, Heaven knows, the first movement. And the Finale? Most of all! It is simply implayable unless we go all the way with him, as he cries out "Brüder!" - Leonard Bernstein

Soloists: Gwyneth Jones, Shirley Verrett, Placido Domingo, Martti Talvela.
Vienna Philharmonic; Vienna State Opera Chorus

Description Disclaimer


Contact Us: (541) 737-2538,