Multimedia Collection


114 min
M1500 .G54 I65 2002 DVD

Operetta. Music by Arthur Sullivan. Libretto by W.S. Gilbert.

Once the life and soul of Fairyland, Iolanthe was banished 25 years ago for marrying a mortal. Now, pardoned by the Fairy Queen, she returns, still a beautiful teenager, but with a 24-year-old son, Strephon, who is half fairy, half mortal. He is in love with Phyllis, a ward of the rather susceptible Lord Chancellor. For a while, these complications wreak havoc with the proceedings in the House of Lords, giving Gilbert a chance to poke fun at that august institution. Featuring the London Symphony Orchestra and the Ambrosian Opera Chorus and starring Beverley Mills, Derek Hammond-Stroud, Alexander Oliver and Kate Flowers.

Beverley Mills, Derek Hammond-Stroud, Alexander Oliver, Kate Flowers ; London Symphony Orchestra ; Alexander Faris, conductor ; Ambrosian Opera Chorus ; John McCarthy, chorus master.

Distributed by Acorn Media (

Description Disclaimer


Contact Us
(541) 737-2538