Multimedia Collection

Les Huguenots

200 min
M1500 .M59 H8 2000z DVD

Opera in 5 acts. Music by Giacomo Meyerbeer. Libretto by Augustin Eugène Scribe.

In tradition of grand opera, Dame Joan Sutherland's farewell performance to the operatic stage in Giacomo Meyerbeer's Les Huguenots is a gala triumph of spectacle, pageantry, and drama. This technically complex production captures the horror and tragedy of the St. Bartholomew's Day massacre, as well as the splendor and romance of 16th century France.

Sutherland's glorious soprano voice is just one of the many brilliant highlights of this acclaimed performance, a revival of director Lotfi Mansouri's highly praised 1981 production. Often referred to as "The Night of the Seven Stars," Les Huguenots is a demanding production that requires the presence of seven major talents to sing the lead roles. For this reason, it is not often performed, but it is a most fitting end to the career of "La Stupenda," one of opera's brightest stars.

Cast: Joan Sutherland (Marguerite de Valois) ; Amanda Thane (Valentine) ; Suzanne Johnston (Urbain) ; Anson Austin (Raoul de Nangis) ; John Pringle (Count de Nevers) ; Clifford Grant (Marcel) ; John Wegner (Count de Saint Bris) ; David Collins-White, Kerry Henderson, Neil Kirkby, Lindsay Gaffney, David Lemke, Kirsti Harms, Joanna Cole, Kerry Elizabeth Brown, Genevieve Killalea, Sergei Baigildin, Marjory McKay, Jennifer Bermingham, Neville Wilkie, David Hibbard, Stephen Bennett, Greg Scott, supporting soloists ; Australian Opera Chorus ; Australian Opera & Ballet Orchestra ; The Australian Opera Dance Ensemble ; Richard Bonynge, conductor.

Originally produced in 1990 at the Sydney Opera House.

Sung in French, with English subtitles.

Distributed by Kultur (

Description Disclaimer


Contact Us
(541) 737-2538