Multimedia Collection

Pelléas et Melisande

163 min
M1500 .D28 P4 2005 DVD

Opera. Music by Claude Debussy. Libretto by Maurice Maeterlinck.

Debussy's masterpiece, Pelléas et Mélisande, is based on Maurice Maeterlinck's symbolist play - a tragic fairytale, which recounts the ill-fated love of half-brothers Golaud and Pelléas for the same woman, the enigmatic Mélisande. Haunting and intensely atmospheric, Debussy's score continues where language ends, articulating the dream-like inner worlds of the doomed lovers. Melodic vocal lines and motifs resurface throughout the opera like snatched memories.

Cast: Christiane Oelze, Richard Croft, John Tomlinson, Gwynne Howell, Jean Rigby, Jake Arditti ; London Philharmonic Orchestra ; Glyndebourne Chorus ; conductor, Andrew Davis.

Sung in French ; subtitles in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish.

Distributed by Kultur (

Description Disclaimer


Contact Us
(541) 737-2538