Multimedia Collection

La Forza del Destino

167 min
M1500 .V4 F67 1998 DVD

Opera in four acts. Music by Giuseppe Verdi. Libretto by Maria Piave.

Taped live at the Marinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg, Valery Gergiev conducts this landmark production of Giuseppe Verdi's operatic masterpiece. This opera premiered at the Mariinsky Theatre in 1862, and is performed here in its original St. Petersburg version using reconstructions of the magnificent painted scenery.

The story of two lovers who are separated, then pursued by her brother who is convinced that they are responsible for her father's death. The story is based on the premise that fate is inexorable, that there is no free choice.

Opera in four acts.

Cast: Galina Gorchakova, soprano ; Gegam Grigorian, tenor ; Nikolai Putilin, baritone ; Marianna Tarasova, mezzo-soprano ; Sergei Alexashkin, bass ; Georgy Zastavny, baritone ; Kirov Chorus and Orchestra, St. Petersburg ; Valery Gergiev, conductor and artistic director.

Sung in Italian; English subtitles.

Distributed by Kultur (

Description Disclaimer


Contact Us
(541) 737-2538