Multimedia Collection


146 min
M1500 .V48 O8231 2001 DVD

Opera in four acts. Music by Giuseppe Verdi. Libretto by Arrigo Boito after the play by William Shakespeare.

In order to revenge himself against Othello, Iago uses deceit to awaken in Othello a suspicion that his wife, Desdemona, has been unfaithful to him. After Othello kills Desdemona he learns of Iago's treachery, and plunges a dagger into his own heart.

Performers: Plácido Domingo (Otello) ; Kiri Te Kanawa (Desdemona) ; Sergei Leiferkus (Iago) ; Roderick Earle (Montano) ; Robin Leggate (Cassio) ; Ramon Remedios (Roderigo) ; Claire Powell (Emilia) ; Christopher Lackner (a herald) ; Mark Beesley (Lodovico) ; Orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; Royal Opera Chorus ; Sir Georg Solti, conductor.

Sung in Italian with English subtitles.

Distributed by Kultur (

Description Disclaimer


Contact Us
(541) 737-2538