Multimedia Collection


123 min
M1500 .V48 S85 2001 DVD

Opera in four acts. Music by Giuseppe Verdi. Libretto by Francesco Maria Piava.

Stiffelio, a pastor persecuted for his beliefs, takes refuge in the castle of his follower Count Stankar and marries Lina, the Count's daughter. When Lina is unfaithful to him and Stankar desires vengeance, Stiffelio intervenes, insisting that a Christian is bound to forgive, and accepts his wife's contrition.

Jose Carreras (Stiffelio) ; Catherine Malfitano (Lina) ; Gregory Yurisich (Stankar) ; Gwynne Howell (Jorg) ; Adele Paxton (Dorotea) ; Robin Leggate (Raffaele) ; Lynton Atkinson (Federico) ; The Royal Opera Chorus ; The Orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; Sir Edward Downes, conductor.

Sung in Italian with English subtitles.

Distributed by KULTUR International Films, Ltd. (

Description Disclaimer


Contact Us
(541) 737-2538