Multimedia Collection

(The Story of the Symphony series)

90 minutes
MT125 .S681 1984 v.1

Symphony no. 87 and Symphony no. 39
Performed by Andre Previn and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

The symphonies of Haydn and Mozart represent a landmark in the history of Western Music. Living at a time when the composer was fast making the transition from being a servant in a grand household to being an individual with a personal voice, Haydn and Mozart laid firm foundations for a rich form of musical expression that finds its most magnificent and powerful expression in the strange phenomenon called the 'symphony'. They wrote over one hundred and fifty symphonies between them, and their influence has had a lasting effect on later symphonic forms and styles and on the development of the symphony orchestra.

Description Disclaimer


Contact Us: (541) 737-2538,