The Subject Librarian for Pharmacy is Alison Bobal, 737-7274, alison.bobal@oregonstate.edu.
Micromedex is a set of databases that contain comprehensive information for the areas of Pharmacy and Toxicology.
POISINDEX® System
This database is divided into two major sections: Product/Substance
Identification and Toxicological Managements. The product and
substance identification section contains over 1,000,000 entries that can
can be used to identify: common household products, industrial chemicals,
industrial products, pharmaceutical products and biological entities (botanic,
zoologic and food poisoning). The management section
offers over 850 detailed courses of treatment for any exposure to a substance.
IDENTIDEX® System
Describes tablets and capsules for easy identification by using physical
characteristics, including product imprint codes, color and shape.
This database can be used identify active ingredients of unknown tablets
and capsules in emergency situations. It presents active and inactive
ingredients for prescription and non-prescription drugs and provides manufacturers
information. An added bonus to this database is its extensive dictionary
of street drugs and slang terms.
TOMES® System
Provides medical treatment protocols to aid in evaluating and managing
exposures, responding to emergency situations, and complying with legislated
regulations. The medical information portion (MEDITEXT®) of this database assists with:
monitoring, evaluation and treatment of individuals experiencing acute
or chronic exposures to chemical compounds - the information is organized
by routes of exposure and treatment protocols. The hazard information
portion (HAZARDTEXT®) assists with: initial response to incidents
such as spills, leaks, fires or explosions; managing chemicals safely in
the workplace and managing chemical impacts to the environment.
CURRENT CONCEPTS
Current Concepts is a continuing education program. Subscribers to
the DRUGDEX® System receive Current Concepts as a part of their subscription;
there are no fees associated with this program. Although intended
for pharmacists, any healthcare professional may participate. A list
of current continuing education can be found on the Micromedex website
at Current Concepts
DRUGDEX® System
Provides over 1,600 comprehensive drug monographs easily accessed by
trade name, generic name, indications, or adverse effects. It includes both FDA-approved, over-the-counter, international and investigational
drugs. Specific topic areas include dosage, pharmacokinetics, adverse
drug reactions, cautions (drug, food, laboratory), interactions, comparative
drug efficacy and clinical applications.
INDEX NOMINUM
Recognized worldwide, Index Nominum is an international drug directory
that provides synonyms, formulas, and therapeutic classes of approximately
5,300 drugs and derivatives, 41,800 trademarks, and 12,800 synonyms. Except for very important combinations, only preparations containing a
single active substance are included.
PDR®
Physicians' Desk Reference provides over 2,800 pharmaceutical products-prescription
and over the counter agents. Provides complete manufacturer drug
labeling information.
MARTINDALE: The Complete Drug Reference
Provides electronic access to brand and trade name cross-referencing
of drugs and substances worldwide. Contains information on therapeutic
uses, pharmacokinetics, adverse effects, disease state management and proprietary
names. Search using brand names or generic names for the latest information
from European sources.
USP DI® Drug Information for the Health Care Professional
Details essential prescribing and dispensing information for more than 11,000 brand name, generic, and nonprescription drug products
DRUG-REAX® System
Enables interactive identification of potential adverse reactions between
drugs and other drugs, foods, diseases, or chemicals.
DOSING & THERAPEUTIC TOOLS
Presents a collection of clinical "how-to" modules.
IV INDEX(TM) System with Trissel's Tables
Provides IV compatibility test results for 145 of the most common critical
care parenteral drugs.
DISEASEDEX(TM) Emergency Medicine
DISEASEDEX is designed to provide treatment protocols and
guidelines for use in acute care settings. Database features include pertinent
clinical presentations, laboratory and diagnostic findings, therapeutic
modalities, and answers to patient specific questions. Pre hospital protocols
are included and information is retrievable using a 40,000 key-word thesaurus
based on the National Library of Medicine subject headings.
EMERGENCY MEDICAL ABSTRACTS
Emergency Medical Abstracts (EMA) from Dr. Rick Bukata. EMA is the
standard for emergency medicine, providing the most relevant, timely, and
provocative literature abstracts available.
Patient Education Leaflets
Assists healthcare professionals in educating patients, with the goal
of improving patient outcomes and addressing regulatory compliance.
USP DI® Advice for the Patient®
Easy-to-understand drug information for the consumer.
AltMed-REAX(TM) for the Patient
Provides information to consumers on interactions related to herbal medicines and other dietary supplements. Information is written and reviewed by authorities in the field of herbal and dietary supplement interactions.
REPRORISK System
The REPRORISK® System is a unique collection of reproductive risk
information databases. The System helps professionals evaluate reproductive
risks of drugs, chemicals, and physical and environmental agents on males,
females, and unborn children. This system contains 4 databases:
REPROTEXT® - Reproductive Hazard Reference - in-depth reviews of full range health effects of chemicals and physical agents.
REPROTOX® -Reproductive Hazard Information - impact of physical and chemical environment on human reproduction and development.
SHEPARD'S Catalog of Teratogenic Agents - up-to-date information on chemicals, food and additives, household products, etc.
TERIS® (Teratogenic Information System) - teratogenic effects of drugs and environmental agents
AltMedDex® System
AltMedDex offers evidence-based, clinical information on herbal, vitamin, mineral and other dietary supplements. The unbiased information is peer reviewed by a team of experts from both alternative medicine and traditional medicine communities.
Alternative Medicine Consults
Provides crucial information of interest to those needing information on herbal medicines and other dietary supplements. Topics include FDA warnings, pregnancy risk categories, and guidelines on dosing, safety and efficacy issues.
Descriptions of Micromedex Databases taken from: Micromedex Healthcare Series for Windows Learning Guide, 10/97, Englewood, Colorado, Micromedex, Inc.
Braun, E. E. and Kumar, Lisa eds., Gale Directory of Databases, vol. 2, 3/98, Detroit, Gale Research.
The Micromedex website is at http://www.micromedex.com.
For additional assistance contact Alison Bobal, 737-7274, alison.bobal@oregonstate.edu.
Return to the Alphabetical or Subject index of the Subject Research Guides.